My first blog post ever!

I feel like I have gotten so much out of reading blogs that I want to do my part to contribute to the internets.  I want to write about healthy food and some desserts for good measure.  I am inspired to start by writing about our CSA haul each week.  We are subscribed to Fresh Fork Market.   I didn’t think to start this until after the first week.   I will do a review, but no pictures, unfortunately.  We get the small share so this is what we received:

1 whole pasture raised chicken, 4-5 lbs 

2 lbs organic cornmeal

1 bunch cilantro

1 bunch radishes with tops

1 head assorted leaf lettuce (approx .5 lbs)

1 hydroponic cucumbers

1 quart farmstead yogurt

We roasted the chicken which was delicious!  We put some Penzey’s spices on it and it turned out perfectly.

I also made Julia Child’s spoon cornbread.  It was good but not very sweet like I am used to eating cornbread.  However, the following morning I added honey and it was great.  I like that I did not have to use a box to make it and it was all ingredients I had in my kitchen.

I roasted the radishes with new potatoes  and then sauteed them along with a handful of spinach in vinaigrette dressing.   This was based off a recipe from Noble Pig.  This was really springy and delightful.  I did not know what to expect with the radishes but they were so good and paired well with the potatoes.  I will definitely make this again.

Other than that, we have had smoothies and salads with the other ingredients. 

I am looking forward to picking up this week’s haul tonight.  I have some plans for taco pizza!

2 Comments on “My first blog post ever!”

  1. Audra says:

    Congrats on your new blogging adventure! This looks fantastic! Remember that WAY more people read your blog than leave comments, so even when you don’t get many, know that people are reading.

  2. Thank you, Audra! I really appreciate your comment! 🙂


Leave a Reply

