Fresh fork week #2

I love getting the email that says what we are going to receive in our package for the week.  Really, it is the little things that delight me.  I was psyched to receive these goodies:

1 lb Berkshire chorizo sausage

2 lbs spelt berries

1 lb whole wheat linguini

1 bunch garlic scapes

1 head assorted leaf lettuce

1 quart strawberries

2 lbs hoop house tomatoes 

1 dz brown eggs

I have made 3 meals with this stuff so far.   The first recipe I prepared was a garlic scape pesto.  I found this in Dorie Greenspan’s blog.  I know who Dorie is from my baking blog stalking days.  There was (and maybe still is) a huge group of people who bake something from one of Dorie’s cookbooks. 

Anyway, this pesto was tasty.  Garlicky but not too much so.  I added more  rather than less of the parmesan cheese.  It is a rich pesto and I didn’t want to eat it two nights in a row.  But we froze the other half of the recipe.  This pesto was tossed with half of our whole wheat linguine, and we added some broccoli.  Super yum.  My husband says that Ohio City pasta (which is where the pasta originated) is different and much better than other non-homemade whole wheat pastas.  I did not taste the bitterness you tend to get with boxed whole wheat pastas.

Other recipes coming up soon!

Leave a Reply

