A ramble

I feel the need to apologize for the lack of posts the past few days, but I just haven’t made anything worthy of blogging about.

I made this lemon and squash recipe from the Noble Pig which tasted great.  However, I tried to alter it to substitute milk for heavy cream and I must have added too much milk because it was not thick.  I didn’t have time to play around with it, it tasted fine, so I just ate it!

My husband also made a delicious tomato and chicken dish in the pressure cooker.  It included tomatoes, chopped shallot, parmesan cheese, italian spices (see below), and chicken nuggets cooked together and put over pasta.   Seriously delicious.  Does anyone else have a pressure cooker?

We also made a thai chicken and rice meal with carrots, red curry paste and coconut milk.   We are going to have leftovers and add some cauliflower tonight.  I was surprised to see that 1/3 cup of coconut milk had 49% of your daily saturated fat.  Seems like a lot but this milk was watered down.  And I don’t think twice about eating a fatty piece of chocolate so what’s the difference, right?

I’d like to give thanks to my friend who bought us a set of Penzey’s spices.   Their “Pasta sprinkle” has been so useful in cooking tomato/italian dishes because it has California basil, Turkish oregano, minced garlic and thyme in it.   It’s made some of these dishes SO easy to mix up.  I highly recommend Penzey’s spices.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

